Skip to content
    Talk to an Expert

      Door Hardware Certifications & Compliance Guide

      Talk To An Expert
      Resources / Certifications

      PDQ Certifications at a Glance

      PDQ offers 62 commercial door hardware products with a published certification or compliance listing. That includes ANSI/BHMA Grade 1 cylindrical locks, mortise locks, exit devices and closers; UL 10C fire listings up to 3 hours; UL 305 panic devices; ADA and ICC A117.1 compliant trim; Florida HVHZ approvals; California CBC 11B and Education Code options; and Buy American Act and Trade Agreements Act compliant lines.

      Use the matrix to filter by the exact combination your project requires, then open any product for submittal sheets, templates and installation instructions.

      Certifications verified against PDQ product pages on October 13, 2026.

      Download the PDQ Hardware Spec
      62products with a published listing
      26with an ANSI/BHMA rating
      43fire rated or listed
      40ADA / ICC A117.1 compliant

      Find PDQ Products by Certification

      Select one or more requirements. The table shows products that meet all of them. Fire ratings, door sizes and option-dependent listings (such as UL 294 with delayed egress or CBC with the 5P option) are noted in each cell.

      Performance
      Fire & life safety
      Accessibility
      Electrified
      Regional
      Federal & origin

      PDQ door hardware certifications and compliance by product
      ProductTypeANSI/BHMAFire ListingPanicAccessibilityElectrified / Access ControlRegionalOrigin / FederalNotes
      XGT Series Grade 1 Cylindrical LockCylindrical LocksA156.2 Grade 1UL listed, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8')Not listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedFL HVHZ (FL 21376, ±70 psf); CA Ed Code 17075.50 (135/135LED/145 functions)BAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Federal Spec FF-H-106C (superseded by A156.2)
      GT Series Grade 1 Cylindrical LockCylindrical LocksA156.2 Grade 1UL listed, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8')Not listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedFL HVHZ (FL 21376, ±70 psf); CA Ed Code 17075.50 (135/135LED/145 functions)BAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Federal Spec FF-H-106C (superseded by A156.2)
      XGT/GT 135 Classroom Intruder LockCylindrical LocksA156.2 Grade 1UL listed, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8')Not listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedFL HVHZ (FL 21376, ±70 psf); CA Ed Code 17075.50 (135/135LED/145 functions)BAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Federal Spec FF-H-106C (superseded by A156.2)
      GT276 Indicator Lock, Grade 1Cylindrical LocksA156.2 Grade 1UL listed, 3 hr (singles)Not listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      SX Series Grade 1 Cylindrical LockCylindrical LocksA156.2 Grade 1 (2003 ed., 800,000+ cycles)UL/cUL 10C, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8')Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listedTAA (Taiwan)Not listed
      GP Series Grade 2 Cylindrical LockCylindrical LocksA156.2 Grade 2UL listed, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8')Not listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Not listed
      SD Series Grade 2 Cylindrical LockCylindrical LocksA156.2 Grade 2UL listed, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8')Not listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      SF Series Grade 2 Cylindrical LockCylindrical LocksA156.2 Grade 2 (entry function, fixed backset latch)UL listed, singles to 4'x8' (with UL latchbolt)Not listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      SV Series Grade 2 Cylindrical LockCylindrical LocksA156.2 Grade 2UL/cUL 10C, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8')Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      CL Series Grade 2 Interconnected LockInterconnected & Tubular LocksANSI Grade 2UL listed, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8')Not listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      TJ Series Tubular LockInterconnected & Tubular LocksNot listedNot listedNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedNot listedDoor prep to ANSI A115.2, Type 161
      MR Series Mortise Lock, Grade 1Mortise LocksA156.13 Operational Grade 1 + Security Grade 1UL 10C, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8'; active leaf pairs to 8'x8')Not listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedFL HVHZ (FL 21376, ±70 psf)BAA (COTS, assembled in USA)J wide escutcheon trim complies with UFGS 08 71 00
      MJ Series Mortise DeadboltDeadboltsNot listedUL listed, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8')Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listedTAA (Taiwan)Not listed
      KT Series Extra Heavy Duty DeadboltDeadboltsNot listedUL 10C, 3 hr auxiliary lock (A label singles); UL 10BNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      KM Series Heavy Duty DeadboltDeadboltsNot listedUL 10C, 3 hr auxiliary lock (A label singles); UL 10BNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      KV Series Standard Duty DeadboltDeadboltsNot listedUL 10C, 3 hr auxiliary lock (A label singles); UL 10BNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      6300R Rim Exit Device, Wide StileExit DevicesA156.3 Grade 1UL 10C fire exit hardware, 3 hr (ETL/Intertek)UL 305ADA + ICC A117.1UL 294 with delayed egress optionFL HVHZ (FL 40297; +60/-65 psf 16ga single, ±50 psf 18ga single); 2023 FBC; CBC 11B-309.4 with 5P optionBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Not listed
      6300V Surface Vertical Rod Exit Device, Wide StileExit DevicesA156.3 Grade 1UL 10C fire exit hardware, 3 hr (ETL/Intertek)UL 305ADA + ICC A117.1UL 294 with delayed egress optionFL HVHZ (FL 40297; ±50 psf 18ga pair); CBC 11B-309.4 with 5P optionBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Not listed
      6300C Concealed Vertical Rod Exit Device, Wide StileExit DevicesA156.3 Grade 1 (pending)UL 10C fire exit hardware, 3 hr + CAN/ULC-S104 (ETL/Intertek)UL 305ADA + ICC A117.1UL 294 with delayed egress optionCBC 11B-309.4 with 5P optionBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Not listed
      6300M Mortise Exit DeviceExit DevicesNot listedUL 10C fire exit hardware, 90 min (ETL/Intertek)UL 305ADA + ICC A117.1UL 294 with delayed egress optionNot listedBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Not listed
      6300D Dummy Push BarExit DevicesNot listedNot listedNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Non-latching; no panic or fire listing (by design)
      6400R Rim Exit Device, Narrow StileExit DevicesA156.3 Grade 1UL 10C fire exit hardware, 3 hr (ETL/Intertek)UL 305ADA + ICC A117.1UL 294 with delayed egress optionFL HVHZ (FL 40297; +60/-65 psf 16ga single, ±50 psf 18ga single); 2023 FBC; CBC 11B-309.4 with 5P optionBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Not listed
      6400V Surface Vertical Rod Exit Device, Narrow StileExit DevicesA156.3 Grade 1UL 10C fire exit hardware, 3 hr (ETL/Intertek)UL 305ADA + ICC A117.1UL 294 with delayed egress optionFL HVHZ (FL 40297; ±50 psf 18ga pair); CBC 11B-309.4 with 5P optionBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Not listed
      6400C Concealed Vertical Rod Exit Device, Narrow StileExit DevicesA156.3 Grade 1 (pending)UL 10C fire exit hardware, 3 hr + CAN/ULC-S104 (ETL/Intertek)UL 305ADA + ICC A117.1UL 294 with delayed egress optionCBC 11B-309.4 with 5P optionBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Not listed
      4200R Rim Exit Device, Wide StileExit DevicesNot listedUL fire exit hardware, 1-1/2 hr (to 3'x7')UL 305ADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Taiwan)Not listed
      4200V Surface Vertical Rod Exit Device, Wide StileExit DevicesNot listedUL fire exit hardware, 1-1/2 hr (to 3'x7')UL 305ADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Taiwan)Not listed
      9300 Series MullionExit DevicesNot listed3 hr fire labeled, pairs to 8'x8' with 6300RF/6400RF (ETL)Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listedBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Not listed
      6N Narrow Escutcheon TrimExit Device TrimNot listedNot listedNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      6W Wide Escutcheon TrimExit Device TrimNot listedNot listedNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      6S Rose TrimExit Device TrimNot listedNot listedNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      4EN Narrow Escutcheon TrimExit Device TrimNot listedNot listedNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      4EW Wide Escutcheon TrimExit Device TrimNot listedNot listedNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      4S Rose TrimExit Device TrimNot listedNot listedNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      6W99 Electrified Exit Device TrimExit Device TrimNot listedNot listedNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedNot listedMotor drive cycle tested to 1.4M+ cycles (PDQ test)
      3100 Series Light Duty Door CloserDoor ClosersA156.4 Grade 1UL listed, labeled fire doors to 3 hrNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      5100 Series Heavy Duty Door CloserDoor ClosersA156.4 Grade 1UL listed, labeled fire doors to 3 hrNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      5300 Series Standard Duty Closer, Slim CoverDoor ClosersA156.4 Grade 1UL listed, labeled fire doors to 3 hrNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      5500 Series Standard Duty Closer, Full CoverDoor ClosersA156.4 Grade 1UL listed, labeled fire doors to 3 hrNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      7100 Series Extra Heavy Duty Door CloserDoor ClosersA156.4 Grade 1UL listed, labeled fire doors to 3 hrNot listedADA + ICC A117.1Not listedNot listedTAA (Korea)Not listed
      BB 2-Ball Bearing Hinge, Standard DutyHingesNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedConforms to NFPA 80 (2010), 6.4.3.1
      HB 4-Ball Bearing Hinge, Heavy DutyHingesNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedConforms to NFPA 80 (2010), 6.4.3.1
      PB Plain Bearing Hinge, Standard DutyHingesA156.1 Grade 3 (350,000 cycles)Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedConforms to NFPA 80 (2010), 6.4.3.1
      SH Spring Hinge, Standard DutyHingesNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedConforms to NFPA 80 (2010), 6.4.3.1
      EL4 Electrified Hinge, 4 WireHingesA156.1 (100,000+ cycles)UL listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedConforms to NFPA 80 (2010), 6.4.3.1
      EL8 Electrified Hinge, 8 WireHingesA156.1 (100,000+ cycles)UL listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedConforms to NFPA 80 (2010), 6.4.3.1
      GT199 Electrified Cylindrical LockElectrified HardwareNot listedUL 10C + CAN/ULC-S104, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8', pairs to 8'x8')Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listedBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Not listed
      MR199 Electrified Mortise LockElectrified HardwareNot listedUL 10C + CAN/ULC-S104, 3 hr (singles to 4'x8'; active leaf pairs to 8'x8')Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listedBAA (COTS, assembled in USA)Not listed
      EPT100 Electric Power TransferElectrified HardwareNot listedUL/ULC listed for fire doorsNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      9910 Electric Strike for Exit DevicesElectrified HardwareNot listed3 hr fire rated (listing body not stated)Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed1,500 lbf static; 70 ft-lb dynamic; 250,000 cycles; fail-secure
      PS220 Power Supply, 2 OutputElectrified HardwareNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedUL 294 (6th ed.) listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      PS220B Power Supply, Battery BackupElectrified HardwareNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedUL 294 (6th ed.) listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      PS440B Power Supply, Battery Backup, 4 OutputElectrified HardwareNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedUL 294 (6th ed.) listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      PS480B Power Supply, Battery Backup, 8 OutputElectrified HardwareNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedUL 294 (6th ed.) listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      Flush Bolts and CoordinatorsBolts & CoordinatorsNot listedUL/cUL listed; 20 min (93203) to 3 hr+ (93101/93102)Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      GTS Electronic Cylindrical Lock (PDQ Spirit)Electronic LocksNot listedUL/cUL 10C, 45 minNot listedADAFCC Part 15Not listedAssembled in USANot listed
      SDS Electronic Cylindrical Lock (PDQ Spirit)Electronic LocksNot listedUL/cUL 10C, 20 minNot listedADAFCC Part 15; IPX5 outdoor (optional)Not listedAssembled in USANot listed
      KMS Electronic Deadbolt (PDQ Spirit)Electronic LocksNot listedUL/cUL 10C, 20 minNot listedADAFCC Part 15; IPX5 outdoor (optional)Not listedAssembled in USANot listed
      CLS Electronic Interconnected Lock (PDQ Spirit)Electronic LocksNot listedUL/cUL 10C, 20 minNot listedADAFCC Part 15Not listedAssembled in USANot listed
      MRS Electronic Mortise Lock (PDQ Spirit)Electronic LocksNot listedUL/cUL 10C, 3 hrNot listedADAFCC Part 15Not listedAssembled in USANot listed
      6EWS Electronic Exit Device Trim (PDQ Spirit)Electronic LocksNot listedUL/cUL 10C, 3 hrNot listedADAFCC Part 15Not listedAssembled in USANot listed
      SDE Electronic Tubular LockElectronic LocksNot listedNot listedNot listedADANot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
      VAULT Patented Keying SystemKey SystemsBHMA certified (standard not stated)Not listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedKey control via authorized distributors only

      Listings apply to the configurations described on each product page. Fire ratings depend on door type, size and options. Always confirm against the product's architectural submittal sheet and the listing agency directory before issuing a specification.

      Need submittal sheets or help confirming a product’s listing for your project? Your local PDQ rep can help.

      Find a Sales Rep

      Performance Grades: ANSI/BHMA

      The Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association (BHMA) writes the ANSI-accredited A156 standards that define how door hardware is cycle tested, strength tested, security tested and finish tested. Grade 1 is the highest commercial level, Grade 2 is mid-level commercial, and Grade 3 is light commercial.

      BHMA Certified vs. “meets” or “tested to”

      What it is. BHMA Certified means an independent lab tested the product to the named A156 standard and BHMA lists it in its Certified Products Directory. Phrases like “meets”, “tested to” or “exceeds” are manufacturer claims and are not the same thing on a submittal.

      How to specify it. Name the standard and the grade, for example “ANSI/BHMA A156.2, Series 4000, Grade 1, listed in the BHMA Certified Products Directory.”

      PDQ products

      Reference standard. Applies across PDQ product lines.

      ANSI/BHMA A156.2: Bored and Preassembled (Cylindrical) Locks

      What it is. Covers cylindrical lever locks. Grades are based on cycle life, strength, security and finish tests. Grade 1 is the usual requirement for schools, healthcare, government and high-traffic commercial doors.

      How to specify it. Specify Grade 1 for corridor, classroom, stair and exterior doors. Grade 2 is common for offices and multifamily units.

      PDQ products

      ANSI/BHMA A156.13: Mortise Locks and Latches

      What it is. Mortise locks receive two separate ratings: an Operational Grade (durability) and a Security Grade (resistance to forced entry). Both are graded 1 through 3.

      How to specify it. Call out both grades, for example “Operational Grade 1, Security Grade 1.”

      PDQ products

      ANSI/BHMA A156.3: Exit Devices

      What it is. Covers rim, vertical rod, mortise and concealed exit devices. Grade 1 devices must complete 500,000 cycles with no loss of operation, plus strength, latch load and operating force tests.

      How to specify it. Pair A156.3 Grade 1 with UL 305 panic listing and, on rated openings, a fire exit hardware listing.

      PDQ products

      ANSI/BHMA A156.4: Door Controls (Closers)

      What it is. Covers surface, concealed and floor closers, including cycle life, closing force, latch speed and backcheck performance.

      How to specify it. Grade 1 closers are the standard for commercial entrances, stairwells and fire doors.

      PDQ products

      ANSI/BHMA A156.1: Butts and Hinges

      What it is. Covers full mortise, swaging and electrified hinges, graded by bearing type, weight and cycle life.

      How to specify it. Match hinge grade and weight to door weight and frequency of use; use electrified hinges to carry power through rated doors.

      PDQ products

      ANSI/BHMA A156.12: Interconnected Locks

      What it is. Covers interconnected locks, which pair a latch and deadbolt so one motion of the inside lever retracts both. Common in multifamily and hospitality unit entries.

      How to specify it. Confirm the grade and that inside lever operation retracts both bolts for single motion egress.

      PDQ products

      ANSI/BHMA A156.18: Materials and Finishes

      What it is. Defines the three-digit BHMA finish codes (for example 626 satin chromium, 630 satin stainless steel, 613E dark oxidized satin bronze) and the US letter codes they replaced.

      How to specify it. Specify finishes by BHMA number so every hardware type on the opening matches.

      PDQ products

      Reference standard. Applies across PDQ product lines.

      Fire and Life Safety

      Hardware on a fire-rated opening must be listed and labeled for that use, and its rating must match or exceed the door assembly's rating. Egress codes then govern how the hardware operates.

      UL 10C: Positive Pressure Fire Tests of Door Assemblies

      What it is. The fire test model codes require for swinging fire doors. Hardware is listed for a duration (20 minutes up to 3 hours) and a maximum door size. Listings are often tested through Intertek (ETL) or UL; both are OSHA-recognized testing labs that test to the same UL standard.

      How to specify it. Match the hardware listing duration and size to the door label. For pairs, confirm the listing covers pairs and the required coordinator and flush bolts.

      PDQ products

      UL 305: Panic Hardware

      What it is. Required where the building code calls for panic hardware, such as Group A (assembly) and Group E (educational) occupancies with 50 or more occupants, Group H, and certain electrical rooms. Panic hardware that is also listed for fire doors is called fire exit hardware, and it cannot be mechanically dogged.

      How to specify it. On rated openings specify “fire exit hardware”: UL 305 plus a UL 10C listing for the door's rating. Omit hex-key dogging on fire devices.

      PDQ products

      UL 10B: Neutral Pressure Fire Tests

      What it is. The older neutral pressure fire test. Still referenced for auxiliary locks and in some jurisdictions alongside UL 10C.

      How to specify it. Where an AHJ references neutral pressure testing, confirm the auxiliary lock carries both listings.

      PDQ products

      cUL and CAN/ULC-S104: Canadian Fire Listings

      What it is. CAN/ULC-S104 is the Canadian fire test for door assemblies. A cUL or ULC mark indicates the product is listed for use in Canada.

      How to specify it. Require cUL or ULC-S104 listing on projects in Canada or for owners who standardize across both markets.

      PDQ products

      NFPA 80: Fire Doors and Other Opening Protectives

      What it is. Governs installation, inspection and maintenance of fire doors, including hinge requirements and annual fire door inspections.

      How to specify it. Specify hinges that conform to NFPA 80 on all rated openings and plan for annual inspection access.

      PDQ products

      IBC Chapter 10 and NFPA 101: Means of Egress

      What it is. The International Building Code (Section 1010) and NFPA 101 Life Safety Code require doors in the means of egress to open from the egress side without a key, tool or special knowledge, typically with a single motion.

      How to specify it. Classroom security locks, delayed egress and electrified hardware must still preserve free egress. Confirm functions with the AHJ.

      PDQ products

      Reference standard. Applies across PDQ product lines.

      Accessibility

      Accessibility rules govern how hardware is shaped, how much force it takes and how high it is mounted.

      2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design

      What it is. Operable parts must work with one hand without tight grasping, pinching or twisting of the wrist, with no more than 5 lbf (Section 309.4). Door hardware is mounted 34 to 48 inches above the floor (404.2.7), and interior hinged doors are limited to 5 lbf opening force (404.2.9), which affects closer selection.

      How to specify it. Specify lever trim, not knobs, on accessible routes, and closers adjustable to meet opening force limits.

      PDQ products

      California Building Code Chapter 11B

      What it is. California's accessibility chapter. CBC 11B-309.4 caps the force to activate operable parts at 5 lbf, which in practice means panic hardware must release at 5 lbf or less.

      How to specify it. Specify the 5 lbf option on exit devices for California projects. On PDQ 6300/6400 devices this is the 5P option.

      PDQ products

      Electrified and Access Control

      Electrified hardware adds electrical safety, radio and system listings on top of the mechanical and fire listings above.

      UL 294: Access Control System Units

      What it is. The safety and performance standard for access control equipment such as power supplies, controllers and delayed egress devices.

      How to specify it. Require UL 294 on power supplies and on delayed egress exit devices. Confirm the power supply has a fire alarm interface for fail-safe release.

      PDQ products

      FCC Part 15: Radio Frequency Devices

      What it is. Required for any lock or device that transmits wirelessly (Bluetooth, RFID, Wi-Fi). Confirms the device stays within emission limits.

      How to specify it. Require FCC Part 15 on wireless and smartphone-enabled locks.

      PDQ products

      IP Ratings (IEC 60529)

      What it is. Ingress protection ratings for electronics. IPX5 means protection against water jets from any direction, a typical target for exterior electronic locks.

      How to specify it. Specify an IP rating for any electronic lock on an exterior or wash-down opening.

      PDQ products

      Regional and Project-Specific Requirements

      Some requirements apply only in certain states or project types. These are the ones most often missed in a hardware schedule.

      Florida Building Code HVHZ and Florida Product Approval

      What it is. The High Velocity Hurricane Zone (Miami-Dade and Broward counties) requires products tested for wind load, impact and cyclic pressure. Approved products carry a Florida Product Approval number with a design pressure rating for a specific door size and gauge.

      How to specify it. List the FL approval number and the design pressure in the hardware schedule, and confirm the door, frame and gauge match the approval. PDQ approvals: FL 21376 (MR, XGT and GT locks) and FL 40297 (6300/6400 rim and vertical rod devices).

      PDQ products

      California Education Code 17075.50: Classroom Locks

      What it is. Requires classroom doors and rooms with five or more occupants in new K-12 public school construction (submitted to DSA on or after July 1, 2011) to be lockable from the inside.

      How to specify it. Specify a classroom security function that locks the outside lever from inside the room while keeping the inside lever free for egress.

      PDQ products

      UFGS 08 71 00 and Federal Specification FF-H-106C

      What it is. Unified Facilities Guide Specifications govern Department of Defense and other federal facilities. FF-H-106C is the legacy federal lock specification, now superseded by ANSI/BHMA A156.2 but still found in older federal specs.

      How to specify it. On federal and military projects, confirm the trim and functions called for in the UFGS section.

      PDQ products

      Federal Procurement and Country of Origin

      Federally funded and federally purchased projects add origin rules. Which rule applies depends on the funding source and the contract vehicle, so confirm with the contracting officer.

      Buy American Act (BAA)

      What it is. Applies to federal construction and supply contracts (FAR 52.225-9 for construction). Door hardware is generally a commercially available off-the-shelf (COTS) item, which changes how domestic content is evaluated.

      How to specify it. Request the manufacturer's BAA statement with the submittal.

      PDQ products

      Trade Agreements Act (TAA)

      What it is. Applies to GSA Schedule purchases and many federal contracts above the trade agreement threshold. Products must be made in the U.S. or substantially transformed in a TAA-designated country.

      How to specify it. Request country of origin and a TAA statement for each product line on GSA purchases.

      PDQ products

      Working on a Specific Project?

      PDQ sales reps cover the U.S., Canada, Latin America and the Middle East. Find your local rep for submittal sheets, product questions and help with your next opening.

      Find a Sales Rep

      Other Requirements You May See in a Division 8 Spec

      These requirements show up in hardware specifications but are not currently published on PDQ product pages. If your project calls for one, talk to your PDQ rep about documentation before you finalize the schedule.

      UL 1034Burglary-resistant electric locking mechanisms. Sometimes required on electrified locks in secure areas.
      ANSI/BHMA A156.25 / A156.31Electrified locking devices and electric strikes. Separate BHMA standards from the mechanical lock standards.
      ANSI/BHMA A156.24Delayed egress locking systems. Often specified with UL 294 on delayed egress exit devices.
      ANSI/BHMA A156.30High security cylinders (forced entry and key control resistance).
      Build America, Buy America (BABA)Applies to infrastructure projects funded by federal financial assistance, separate from BAA.
      Texas TDI windstormWind load evaluation for the Texas coastal counties.
      FEMA P-361 / ICC 500Tornado and hurricane safe room and storm shelter door assemblies.
      EPD / HPD / Declare (LEED)Environmental Product Declarations, Health Product Declarations and Declare labels used for LEED material credits.

      How to Verify a Certification

      A listing is only as good as the directory entry behind it. These are the sources plan reviewers and AHJs check.

      PDQ Submittal Sheets & Downloads
      • BHMA Certified Products Directory buildershardware.com
        Confirms ANSI/BHMA grade certification by product series.
      • UL Product iQ productiq.ulprospector.com
        Confirms UL listings and file numbers.
      • Intertek Directory of Building Products bpdirectory.intertek.com
        Confirms ETL listings tested to UL standards.
      • Florida Building Code Product Approval floridabuilding.org
        Confirms FL approval numbers, HVHZ status and expiration dates.
      • PDQ Architectural Submittal Sheets pdqlocks.com/downloads
        Each product's listings in submittal-ready format.

      Door Hardware Certification FAQ

      What certifications should commercial door hardware have?

      Most Division 8 specifications call for an ANSI/BHMA grade (Grade 1 for high-traffic commercial doors), a UL 10C fire listing on rated openings, UL 305 panic listing where panic hardware is required, and ADA / ICC A117.1 compliant operation. Projects may add regional requirements such as Florida HVHZ or California CBC 11B, and federal projects may require Buy American Act or Trade Agreements Act compliance.

      What is the difference between ANSI/BHMA Grade 1, Grade 2 and Grade 3?

      Grades are set by BHMA's A156 standards. Grade 1 is the highest commercial level, with the most demanding cycle, strength and security tests, and is typical for schools, healthcare, government and exterior doors. Grade 2 is light to medium commercial, common in offices and multifamily units. Grade 3 is light commercial and residential.

       

      What is the difference between panic hardware and fire exit hardware?

      Panic hardware is listed to UL 305 and is required on certain egress doors, such as assembly and educational spaces with 50 or more occupants. Fire exit hardware is panic hardware that is also listed for fire doors under UL 10C. Fire exit hardware cannot be mechanically dogged. PDQ fire exit hardware includes the 6300C, 6300R, 6300V, 6400C, 6400R and 6400V.

      Is an ETL listing the same as a UL listing?

      ETL is Intertek's listing mark. Intertek and UL are both Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratories under OSHA, and an ETL listing to a UL standard (such as UL 305 or UL 10C) is tested to the same requirements as a UL mark. Building officials accept either. PDQ's 6300 and 6400 Series exit devices are listed through Intertek.

      Which PDQ products are approved for the Florida High Velocity Hurricane Zone?

      The MR Series mortise lock and the XGT, GT and XGT/GT 135 cylindrical locks carry Florida Product Approval FL 21376 (design load ±70 psf, single 3' x 7' door). The 6300R, 6400R, 6300V and 6400V exit devices carry FL 40297, rated by door size and gauge. Confirm current status at floridabuilding.org.

      Which PDQ products meet the Buy American Act?

      PDQ products that are assembled in the USA and meet the BAA as COTS products include the XGT, GT, 135, GP, MR, 6300R, 6300V, 6300C, 6300M, 6300D, 6400R, 6400V, 6400C, 9300, GT199 and MR199. Several other lines are TAA compliant with origin in Korea or Taiwan. Request PDQ's current BAA/TAA statement for your project.

       

      Which PDQ locks meet California classroom lock requirements?

      The XGT135, XGT135LED, GT135 and GT145 functions of the XGT and GT Series Grade 1 cylindrical locks meet California Education Code 17075.50, which requires classroom doors to lock from the inside. They are also UL listed for 3-hour single doors and ADA compliant.

      What is the 5P option on PDQ exit devices?

      The 5P option sets the 6300 and 6400 Series exit devices to release at 5 lbf or less, which meets California Building Code 11B-309.4 for operable parts. Specify it on California projects.

       

      How do I verify a door hardware certification?

      Check BHMA grades in the BHMA Certified Products Directory, UL listings in UL Product iQ, ETL listings in Intertek's Directory of Building Products, and Florida approvals at floridabuilding.org. PDQ's architectural submittal sheets list each product's certifications in submittal-ready format.

      Need Documentation for a Specific Product?

      Every PDQ product page includes architectural submittal sheets, templates and installation instructions. For a question about a specific listing, send us a note and the PDQ team will follow up.